This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Weird Parameter Passing Behavior

Jul 30, 2014 at 4:25 AM
Edited Jul 30, 2014 at 8:11 AM
Hello!

I am just getting started with ClearScript but I am finding some weird behavior when it comes to passing .Net objects (strings, integers) into scripts and then using them to return new values.

To be more clear when I load the engine my script is executed and it runs a few functions and fills up an array I am calling Chunks[].

Later on, I want to access the Chunks[] array in a few function, here is a slimmed down, modified version of it.
function getChunk(num) {
    return Chunk[num];
}
That section of code returns fine if I call it like this:
 j = engine.Evaluate("getChunk(" & chunkNum & ")")
Please note that chunkNum is a long value which is equal to 1 in my tests.

If I call it like this, however, it returns as undefined.
j = engine.Script.getChunk(chunkNum)
To conclude, the above code works if I alter the javascript function to assign num to another value (n for example) and then return the chunk based on the index of n.
function getChunk(num) {
        n = num;
    return Chunk[n];
}
This makes absolutely no sense to me. It "works" but some explanation of how the different ways to pass parameters work would be awesome.

(Edit) Question 2:
I am also confused about another set of behavior that I am seeing. Keep in mind that I am completely new to dynamic objects.

Anyways, if I assign a value to d, say an array of some type and in my engine.Evaluate code I return d. If I try watch the value the function returns, it is correct. But when I take that and try to assign it to a local object or variable it crashes with a crossed a native/managed boundary seshexception. But if I assign my local variable to engine.Scripts.d it works perfectly fine. It is obvious I am missing something simple or just not understanding basic concepts, mind helping me out?